IPB unveils the winners of Séan MacBride Peace Prize 2017

IPB unveils the winners of Séan MacBride Peace Prize 2017

Okinawa Council Against Henoko New Base, Noam Chomsky and Jeremy Corbyn will be the winners of this year’s Séan MacBride Peace Prize. The International Peace Bureau awards the Séan MacBride every year to a person, organisation or movement in recognition of its outstanding work for peace, disarmament and human rights.

As can be read in this press release by IPB, Okinawa Council Against Henoko New Base will be honored for its unflagging commitment to close the Futemna Marine Air Base, which is widely seen as one of the world’s most dangerous military bases, and for its nonviolent opposition to the construction of a massive new air, land and sea base in Henoko.

Noam Chomsky will be awarded for his tireless commitment to peace, his strong critiques to U.S. foreign policy, and his anti-imperialism, and Jeremy Corbyn – for his sustained and powerful political work for disarmament and peace. As an active member, vice-chair and now vice-president of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament in the UK he has for many years worked to further the political message of nuclear disarmament.

The prize ceremony will be held on Friday, 24th November in Barcelona. There will be a press conference on the same day at 11am.

Related publications

Lines of research:
Join the Global Days of Action on Military Spending!